小野洋子,“许愿树”,1996–2017年,生长中的树、带细绳的纸标签、笔与艺术家的指示,尺寸可变。上海喜玛拉雅美术馆现场图,2017年

 

尽管小野洋子为人所熟知常因为其活动家的身份,以及她与披头士乐队主唱约翰·列侬的婚姻,但是她从1960年代开始的丰富的艺术创作也同样著名。她的实验性艺术创作涉及表演、装置、电影和歌曲,而始终贯穿在这些实践中的是探索愿望的不同形式。小野洋子长久以来致力于传播和平与对人性的爱,这在上海种子的展览中会以不同的形式得到体现。当我们对未来与可持续性发展的话题的讨论显得紧张,甚至有些令人气馁的时候,她的作品为大家带来一些希望和安慰。

另外,“许愿树”是小野洋子持续了三十年的长期项目,曾在许多不同国家展出。她邀请上海市民在其精心挑选的当地树种的枝干上系上他们的愿望卡。这些愿望之后将被发送到“想象和平的塔”,在那里与世界上无数其他人的愿望聚集在一起。


小野洋子是一位艺术家,她发人深省的工作挑战着人们对艺术和他们周围世界的认知。在职业生涯的一开始,她就是一个观念主义者,她的作品包括表演、说明、影像、音乐、雕塑、装置和写作。

小野洋子在1933年出生于东京,在日本学习哲学后于1953年迁至纽约。上世纪50年代末,她已经成为这座城市里活跃的先锋派活动的重要参与者。在1960年,她打开了位于钦伯斯街阁楼工作室的大门,进行了一系列激进的表演并实现了展早期的观念作品。在1969年,她和约翰·列侬为了和平一起实现了“床—上”以及遍及全球的“战争结束了!”的运动。

在2007年,小野洋子在冰岛的Viðey岛上创造了名为“和平光塔”的永久装置,并将继续通过她的“想象和平”运动,不倦地为和平做努力。在2009年,她获得了威尼斯双年展颁发的金狮奖——终身成就奖。

国家

美国

分享

Yoko Ono, “WISH TREE,” 1996–2017, Living trees, blank paper tags with string, pens and artist’s instructions, Dimensions variable. Shanghai Himalayas Museum installation view, 2017

 

her marriage to Beatles’ lead John Lennon, since the 1960s Yoko Ono has also been known as a prolific artist. Though her experimental art ranges from performances and installations to films and songs, the unifying element of her practice is her exploration of different forms of wishing. In the Shanghai Project exhibition, Ono’s long commitment to spreading peace and love for the greater good of humanity is embodied in different forms. The works offer a glimpse of hope and comfort in the midst of an intensive and potentially daunting discussion about future and sustainability.

“WISH TREE,” one of Ono’s long-term projects, spanning over three decades and installed in many different countries. The installation invites the people of Shanghai to tie their wishes to the trunk of a native tree, carefully selected under the guidance of the artist. These keepsakes will later be sent to IMAGINE PEACE TOWER, where they will join the wishes of hundreds of thousands of people from all over the world.


Yoko Ono is an artist whose thought-provoking work challenges people’s understanding of art and the world around them. From the beginning of her career, she was a conceptualist whose work encompassed performance, instructions, film, music, sculpture, installation and writing.

Ono was born in Tokyo in 1933, and moved to New York in 1953, following her studies in philosophy in Japan. By the late 1950s, she had become part of the cityʼs vibrant avant-garde activities. In 1960, she opened her Chambers Street loft, where she hosted a series of radical performances and exhibited realizations of some of her early conceptual works. In 1969, together with John Lennon, she realized Bed-In, and the worldwide War Is Over! (if you want it) campaign for peace.

In 2007, Ono created the permanent installation IMAGINE PEACE TOWER on Viðey Island, Iceland, and continues to work tirelessly for peace with her IMAGINE PEACE campaign. In 2009 Ono received the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement from the Venice Biennale.

COUNTRY

US

SHARE